“excuse me”

I think I met you once
in a time I cannot remember
it was raining
and you and I ducked
beneath the same awning

it only took a moment
for me to never forget your face
the way your glance caught mine
the smile around your eyes

“excuse me”

you said
as if a need to apologize
for stealing my heart away
a chuckle
and a tentative glance heavenward

wordlessly I begged
but the rain only lessened
and with a smile you were gone
and my heart was lost with you

I sometimes wonder if ever
our paths will cross again
will fate nod her head
or leave me wandering
lonely
forever in search of you

Leave a Reply

