Scared Silly

I don’t dread
spiders, bugs or snakes
I’m not afraid
of aliens or zombies
I’m not even
scared of high places
or the chance of impending doom

I’m only afraid of tomorrow
only scared of the future
only terrified of dreams
and my fear keeps me in check
I’ll never leap if I can’t stand
so I’ll stay here hugging the earth
cause flying is too close to falling
and I can’t take a chance on life

I’m not quaking
over earthquakes
and not trembling
in the eye of a tornado
there’s nothing scary
about dying
it’s living that’s got me spooked

I’m only afraid of tomorrow
only scared of the future
only terrified of dreams
and my fear keeps me in check
I’ll never leap if I can’t stand
so I’ll stay here hugging the earth
cause flying is too close to falling
and I can’t take a chance on life

Leave a Reply

