It’s Funny

it’s funny how much more
this feels like home to me
I’ve only been here a little while
yet those old places of familiarity
hold nothing more than bad memories

it’s funny how relaxed I become
not trying to be someone else
so perhaps he’ll find me here
but I have the defenses to stand
this is my world and not his

it’s funny how life moves on
in the days after we thought it would end
and though time may not heal all wounds
still it reminds us of second chances
I’m taking mine and running with it

2 thoughts on “It’s Funny

Leave a Reply

