Silence is Golden

today you haunted me
frightening my second thoughts
lingering like an unwanted shadow
lurking behind every pair of eyes

I keep trying to forget you
and all the mistakes you tripped me with
but it’s hard when I hear the rumors
that you’re still out there on the pursuit

the day is sighing with long looks
from a golden sun slowly sinking
and the air feels fresh again
as if to peel your markings off my skin

so I’ll let the evening soothe me
in a way that you never really could
and once again I’ll put you behind me
drowning out your desperation with silence

Leave a Reply

