Old at Heart

I think I’ve always been
old at heart
afraid to take risks
too scared to venture
out on my own

even since childhood
I have remained
determined to grow up
but all I’ve been doing
is growing old

age and fatigue
have staked their claim
on a face too young
to share these lines
with thieves of time

But I know that I glowed
perhaps once upon a time
there was radiance
in this face and in
the depths of my eyes

I found the fount of youth
and drank from its rain
but somewhere
in the fight to be and become
I left and lost forever
those sweet shores

Leave a Reply

